• Join
  • Login
  • Contact
Press Releases 

Global pharmacy awards go to pharmacists in seven countries

All press releases

Buenos Aires • 28 August 2016

Ten pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists from seven countries were recognised for their services to pharmacy at the opening ceremony of the 76th World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Buenos Aires, Argentina, today. They received awards from the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) as follows:

  • Distinguished Science Award to Professor Shinji Yamashita (Japan; collected by Dr Teruko Imai)
  • Joseph A. Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to FIP to Dr Dieter Steinbach (Germany)
  • FIP Fellowships —

Professor Ralph Altiere (USA)
Professor Michael Anisfeld (USA)
Professor Parisa Aslani (Australia)
Mr Thony Björk (Sweden)
Professor Timothy Chen (Australia)
Mrs Manjiri Gharat (India)
Professor Michiho Ito (Japan)
Ms Lindsay McClure (United Kingdom)


Notes for editors

IMAGES available at:

About FIP: The International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) is the global federation of national associations of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists, and is in official relations with the World Health Organization. Through its 137 member organisations, it represents over three million practitioners and scientists around the world.

FIP believes it is of utmost importance to support and recognise individuals who, through their vision and commitment to their profession, are making outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice and pharmaceutical sciences, serving as examples for others. Each year it honours those who have demonstrated commendable work and dedication in areas which parallel its overall mission of advancing pharmacy practice, science and education for the betterment of global health.

About the Distinguished Science Award: The Distinguished Science Award recognises an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution to pharmaceutical science and is awarded every two years.

About the Joseph A. Oddis Award: The Joseph A. Oddis Award is given on an ad-hoc basis to officers or individuals who have rendered exceptional service to FIP.

About FIP Fellowships: An FIP Fellowship recognises individual members of FIP who have exhibited strong leadership internationally, who have distinguished themselves in pharmacy practice or the pharmaceutical sciences, who have contributed to the advancement of the practice of pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences, and who have served FIP. FIP Fellows may use the designation “FFIP”.
About the World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences: FIP’s 76th annual World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is being held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 28 August to 1 September 2016 with the theme “Reducing the global burden of disease”.

Lin-Nam Wang, communications manager
Tel +31 70 302 1987

Last update 5 July 2018

FIP Congresses