Governance and Organisation of the BPS

The BPS consists of:

  1. Its Executive Committee (see below)

  2. The President of FIP, Dr Carmen Peña(ex officio member)

  3. Vice Presidents of FIP, Prof. Ross McKinnon and Dr Linda Hakes

  4. The Chairs of the Special Interest Groups
  5. Delegates of Predominantly Scientific Member Organizations (PSMOs)  (see below the list of these representatives).

  6. BPS Expert Members (see below the list of these expert members) 


The Executive Committee of the BPS

The Executive Committee of the BPS is the body dealing with everyday matters. It consists of:

  • the Chairman of the Board (2016-2020): Prof. Tatsuro Irimura

  • the Scientific Secretary (2015-2019): Prof. Giovanni Pauletti

  • the Immediate Past Chair (2016-2018): Prof. Geoff Tucker

  • two members elected among BPS members:   
    Prof. Jennifer Dressman (2016-2020), Chair of SIG on Regulatory Sciences, BPS Expert Member & Chair of Focus Group on BCS & Biowaiver 
                   - Prof.
    Marilyn Morris (2014-2018)

  • the Professional Secretary (2017-2021) and Interim FIP CEO: Ms Ema Paulino 

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

The BPS may form Special Interest Groups (SIGs) to look into specific problems or to bring together expertise in a specific area of global interest. The Chairs are Members of the Board.


SIG on Drug Design and Discovery Prof. Takuya Kumamoto
SIG on Natural Products Prof. Michiho Ito
SIG on Formulation Design and Pharmaceutical Technology Prof.  Tetsuya Ozeki
SIG on PK/PD and Systems Pharmacology Prof. Stephan Schmidt
SIG on Translational Research and Individualized Medicines Prof. Michael Sorich
SIG on Biotechnology Ms Binodh DeSilva
SIG on Analytical Sciences and Pharmaceutical Quality Prof. Masaru Kato
SIG on Regulatory Sciences Prof. Jennifer Dressman
SIG on Pharmacy Practice Research Prof. Charlie Benrimoj


Predominantly Scientific Member Organizations (PSMOs)

Predominantly Scientific Member Organizations are entitled to be represented by one or several delegates based on their members number.

Here are the delegates of PSMOs:

  • Australasian Pharmaceutical Sciences Association (APSA): Dr Joseph Nicolazzo
  • Pharmaceutical Society of China Taiwan (PST): Prof. Jih-Heng Li
  • Association de Pharmacie Galénique Industrielle (APGI): Dr Elias Fattal
  • Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Great Britain (APSGB): Mr Mark McAllister
  • Indian Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and Technologists (IAPST): Prof. N. Udupa and Prof. Amal Kumar Bandyophadhyay
  • Iranian Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (IranAPS): Prof. Omid Sabzevari
  • Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology of Japan (APSTJ): Prof. Shinji Yamashita and Prof. Teruko Imai
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Japan (PSJ): Prof. Takuya Kumamoto and Prof. Masaru Kato
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Korea (PSK): Prof. Beom-Jin Lee
  • Sociedad Española de Farmacia Industrial y Galénica (SEFIG): Prof. Francisco Otero Espinar
  • Türk Farmasötik Teknoloji Araştırmacıları Derneği (TUFTAD): Ms Nevin Celebi
  • American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS): Prof. Marilyn Morris, Mrs Stacey May and Prof. Christopher McCurdy
  • European Federation of Pharmaceutical Scientists (EUFEPS): Prof. Meindert Danhof



Observers to the BPS

Here are the delegates of the observers:

  • European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines and Healthcare (EDQM): Dr Susanne Keitel
  • United States Pharmacopeia (USP): Dr Anthony Lakavage
  • Norwegian Pharmaceutical Society (NPS): Ms Britt Wolden
  • International Pharmaceutical Students' Federation (IPSF): Mr Christian Roth
  • Young Pharmacists Group (YPG): Mr John Ly


Expert Members (Additional Members of the Board)

In order for the Board to implement and achieve the goals defined, Expert Members are appointed, serving for a specified period of time. Criteria for selection of Expert members are that the individual has an international reputation and recognition in one or more fields of pharmaceutical sciences and that the person is thought to be an opinion leader in his/her field and represents a geographical region of the globe. Guidelines are currently being finalized.

The current Expert Members are:

  • Prof. Xiaoliang Wang (China)
  • Prof. Don Mager (USA)
  • Prof. Dhiren R. Thakker (USA)

WHO Designated Technical Officer/Observer:

  • Dr Sabine Kopp (Switzerland)